Treatment abroad

Probably every person faces certain health problems during his or her life/ These problems cause excitements, doubts, worries (both about oneself and about relatives) as well as significant financial expenses for treatment and medical products (as a consequence of such excitements, doubts and worries). But it often happens that payments made for an expensive treatment and medications is not a guarantee of skilled and well-timed help.

When speaking about capabilities of the domestic health care we should point out that problems of Ukrainian medicine are mainly related with lack of funding and outdated material facilities. And in view of this there are problems with well-timed detection of diseases (especially oncological diseases) as well as with treatment of these diseases at their early stages. In spite of that the highest educational level of our physicians (who have encyclopedic knowledge and are able to perform the most complicated operations) leads to the conclusion that treatment in Ukraine is possible and necessary.

It is not a novelty that receiving treatment in a foreign clinic is really a regular occurrence because an increasing number of people are trying to make a profitable capital investment o their heath by means of using the most up-to-date medical technologies at leading clinics of the world.

Many foreign clinics propose treatment to patients from other countries and that is why it is very important to find to find a proper medical institution which will give you hope for treatment and improved qualities of life.

When choosing the country and the place of treatment you should be first of all based on your diagnosis. A significant number of foreign clinics are specialized institutions working strictly in their area of medicine. Gustave Roussy Institute of Oncology in France or the International Center of Hearing and Speech “MEDINCUS” in Poland are good examples of such institutions. In addition to that there are clinics which primarily deserve to be trusted. As a rule, these are medical institutions with working background of over 50 years which provide medical services not only for foreign tourists but also to local population. 

Adequate choice of a physician is not less important. It is desirable to clarify the qualification level of your physician, his/her membership in professional associations (which appears to be obligatory in the selected country) or membership in international associations.

It should be noted that there are two variants for solving organizational matters concerning treatment abroad. 

  1. A foreign clinic may be addressed directly
  2. Through a tour operator specializing in organization of tours of the kind.

If a patient addresses a clinic directly he/she must be ready for certain hardships.  Let’s start with the fact that a good command of the language is necessary and in addition to that not all representatives of a foreign clinic will agree to communicate English with you. In order your documents could be viewed many countries demand for a translation of these documents into their national languages. And that is quite natural. And in addition to that the documents should be notarized (requirement in the USA, France, Great Britain and other countries). Documents properly executed and sent to the clinic are not a pledge of their immediate consideration. And in case with well-known foreign public clinics the period of consideration may be even as long as half a year.

Probably the most dangerous factor in case with independent organization of treatment is that you may fall for speculators who present themselves as the best physicians or official representatives of the leading medical institutions. The effect of treatment performed by such “specialists” sometimes may be really deplorable. And that is why before performing a trip you should be attentive about collaboration with the chosen foreign clinic.

On the other hand, for organization of your treatment you may address a company specializing in organization of such tours. In this case you can rely on knowledgeable assistance concerning selecting a proper medical institution. And in addition you will be released from cares concerning procurement of visas and transfer, hotel booking and translation of medical documents. And that will help you to focus your attention on your health.

Лечение за рубежом

Пожалуй, каждый человек в своей жизни сталкивается с определенными трудностями со здоровьем, что влечет за собой волнения, сомнения, переживания как за себя, так и за своих близких людей, а как следствие – значительные финансовые затраты на лечение и медицинские препараты. Но и  оплата дорогостоящего лечения и лекарств часто не является гарантией качественной, квалифицированной и своевременной помощи.

Говоря о возможностях отечественного здравоохранения, следует отметить тот факт, что проблемы украинской медицины, в основном, связаны с недостатком финансирования и устаревшей материальной базой, в связи с этим возникают проблемы с ранним распознаванием заболеваний, особенно онкологических, и их лечением в начальных стадиях. Не смотря на это, высочайший уровень образования наших врачей, имеющих энциклопедические знания  и способных проводить сложнейшие операции, позволяет сделать вывод о том, что в Украине лечиться можно и нужно!

Прохождение  лечения в зарубежной клинике - вовсе не новость, это скорее закономерность, поскольку все больше людей стараются сделать выгодное капиталовложение в свое здоровье, используя новейшие медицинские технологии в ведущих мировых клиниках.

Многие зарубежные клиники предлагают лечение пациентам из других стран, поэтому очень важно найти действительно то медицинское учреждение, которое подарит Вам надежду на излечение или улучшение качества жизни.

Прежде всего, выбирая страну и место прохождения лечения, следует отталкиваться от поставленного Вам диагноза. Значительный процент зарубежных клиник - это профильные учреждения, работающие строго в своей области медицины. В качестве примера можно привести, в частности,  Онкологический Институт Гюстав Русси во Франции или Международный Центр Слуха и Речи "МЕДИНКУС", находящийся в Польше. Кроме того, есть клиники, которые, как показывает практика, заслуживают доверия в первую очередь. Как правило, это те медицинские учреждения, чей опыт работы превышает 50 лет, и которые оказывают медицинскую помощь не только иностранным туристам, но и местному населению.

Не менее важным есть правильный выбор врача. Желательно уточнить квалификацию лечащего специалиста, его членство в профессиональных ассоциациях, участие в которых обязательно в выбранной Вами стране, либо в международных ассоциациях.

Следует отметить, что существует два варианта решения организационных вопросов по лечению за рубежом.

  1. В зарубежную клинику можно обратиться напрямую

  2. Через туроператора, специализирующегося на организации подобных туров.

Обращаясь напрямую в клинику, пациент должен быть готов к определенным трудностям. Начнем с того, что необходимо знание языка, более того, далеко не все представители зарубежной клиники захотят общаться с Вами даже на английском языке. Для того, чтобы Ваши документы были рассмотрены, многие страны требуют перевода на их язык, что не удивительно. Более того, документы должны быть нотариально заверены (требование США, Франции, Великобритании и других). Правильно оформленные и пересланные в клинику документы, не являются залогом немедленного их рассмотрения. А если речь идет о всемирно известных государственных зарубежных клиниках, то очередь на рассмотрение может достигать полугода!

Пожалуй, самым опасным фактором риска в самостоятельной организации лечения является вероятность попасть на аферистов, которые позиционируют себя, как лучших врачей или официальных представителей ведущих медучреждений. Эффект от лечения такими «специалистами» порой бывает очень плачевным, поэтому, перед планированием поездки, необходимо внимательно и тщательно отнестись к сотрудничеству с зарубежной клиникой.

С другой стороны, можно обратиться за организацией лечения в компанию, которая специализируется на организации подобных туров. В этом случае Вы сможете рассчитывать на квалифицированную помощь в подборе медицинского учреждения, к тому же Вас избавят от хлопот по оформлению визы и трансфера, бронирования отеля и перевода медицинских документов, что поможет Вам полностью сосредоточиться на своем здоровье.